Online Marketing Glossary: Hybrid Model
Hybrid Model:
- An affiliate commission model that combines payment options (i.e., CPC & CPA).
Personally, I don’t know of any programs that use this model. All the programs I’ve encountered as an affiliate have used one model or the other. The only time I have seen this is when the program is run on multiple networks, so they run one model on one network and another model on the other.
While I don’t have first hand experience, I’ve been told that eBay offers a hybrid model.
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Glossary Definition From ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine
Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Thousand
Cost per Thousand (CPM):
- The cost metric for 1,000 banner advertising impressions. The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1,000. For example, a $10 CPM equals $0.01 per impression.
I remember this being all the rage when I was in college about 6-7 years ago. Now a days there aren’t many programs that offer CPM payment terms, but there are some.
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Glossary Definition From ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine
Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Sale
Cost per Sale (CPS):
- The term for advertising in which the advertiser pays only for those clicks where the user clicks through on the banner or ad and actually purchases a product on the advertiser’s site.
This is the model that most retail businesses use in their affiliate programs. Traditionally, LinkShare has been the network most associated with having retail offers, but the game is constantly changing. Many networks have retail offers with CPS models now.
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Glossary Definition From ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine
Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Order
Cost per Order (CPO):
- The cost metric for each time an order is transacted.
This is what we do at PsPrint. Every time an order is placed, we calculate the commission based off this amount for the affiliate. Many retail programs are similar, putting the onus on the publisher to market the product and assist in making the sale.
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Glossary Definition From ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine
Affiliate Classroom Live! August 9th
Part of advancing your career is continuing your education, so its important to learn what you can, when you can. Continuing doing their part for the affiliate community and affiliate managers, Affiliate Classroom is offering another Affiliate Classroom Live training session for Affiliate Managers the day before Affiliate Summit East in Boston this August.
I attended their full day session last February and I have to tell you – it was a completely invaluable experience. I learned so much… it was worth devoting an entire day to. I also recapped my impressions of the various sessions via this very blog. The only bummer to the whole day was the length of time in grossly uncomfortable chairs with no tables to write on. Incidentally, I spent most the time sitting on the floor using the chair as a platform – I’m just not a lap writer.
They’re at it again, this time taking in the feedback they received and cutting it down to a half day of mostly round table discussions lead by experts – and me.
That’s right, yours truly will be leading a round table discussion at this summit’s event titled: Virtual Social Butterflies: Online Networking & Its Importance for Affiliate Managers
Successfully managing an affiliate program relies heavily on being an approachable manager, developing good relationships with your affiliates. It’s equally important to develop good working relationships with your peers in the industry. We’ll talk about the blog community, social networks, social bookmarks, Twitter, and how they can benefit the affiliate manager.
Besides me, since I’m hardly an “expert” in this field, discussions will be lead by Sam Harrelson on web 2.0, Lisa Riolo on pitching your affiliate program internally, Brad Waller on the NY Affiliate Tax implications, a presentation by Heather Paulson on effective strategies, and some other well known industry leaders. So come on out and let’s talk! Register for the event now at AffiliateClassroomLive.com!
Thanks to Affiliate Classroom’s Rachel Honoway for extending the invite to me!
Read MoreOnline Marketing Glossary: Cost per Lead
Cost per Lead (CPL):
- The cost an advertiser pays per qualified leads.
The CPL model is beneficial for merchants with robust inside and outside sales teams that can follow up on the leads collected by their affiliates. The affiliate is only delivering basic information from interested consumers, making it easier for the sales team to close the deal.
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Glossary Definition From ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine
