Marketing

Cafepress Shows No Mercy to NY Affiliates

Posted on Jun 23, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Yet another merchant has washed their hands of NY based affiliates.  I just received an e-mail from Cafepress:

As you may know, the State of New York recently enacted new legislation that addresses tax registration, collection and remittance, which challenges the CafePress affiliate business model.

Due to mounting uncertainly over these new laws we will no longer be able to support affiliates residing in the State of New York, effective July 1, 2008.

While CafePress has no tax nexus in any states other than California, Nevada and Kentucky we feel it wise to discontinue our affiliate business in New York State at this time.

Regrettably, our hand was forced into making this difficult business decision, and we openly acknowledge the loss of income this means for our New York affiliate partners. Should circumstances around this law change we will eagerly reconsider this decision.

Effective July 1, 2008 CafePress affiliate agreements with all New York residents will be terminated.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Of course I’m not affected, but in an effort to stand tall with my NY brothers and sisters, I’m seriously considering not promoting this program anymore.  Truth be told, I’ve never shown any sales with it as it’s just on some secondary web properties, and I do love their services.  I haven’t reached a personal decision yet.  So this makes me sad that they’ve gone this route.  Alas, poor Cafepress, I knew them well.

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Win a free pass to Affiliate Classroom Live!

Posted on Jun 23, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing, Contests, Social Media | 2 comments

Affiliate Classroom Live!The kind folks at Affiliate Classroom Live have given me a free ticket for the event August 9th at which I’ll be hosting a round table discussion on digital networking for affiliate managers.  I can give it to whomever I choose, so I’m making it arbitrary and holding a contest.

awardThe ticket is a whopping $300 value and gets you access to the entire morning’s worth of discussions and presentations geared towards affiliate managers.  It’s a great event to attend!  I went last February to their full day session and it was so worth it!  I’m certain this event will be even better with the amount of interaction each participant will be able to get with the speakers.

All you to have to do to enter is email your name and address to Contests@TrishaLyn.com.  The winner will be picked at random from all entries on July 7th!  That’s two weeks from today so shoot those emails off now for your chance to win!

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Online Marketing Glossary: Hybrid Model

Posted on Jun 23, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Hybrid Model:

  • An affiliate commission model that combines payment options (i.e., CPC & CPA).

glossary bookPersonally, I don’t know of any programs that use this model.  All the programs I’ve encountered as an affiliate have used one model or the other.  The only time I have seen this is when the program is run on multiple networks, so they run one model on one network and another model on the other.

While I don’t have first hand experience, I’ve been told that eBay offers a hybrid model.

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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Thousand

Posted on Jun 22, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Thousand (CPM):

  • The cost metric for 1,000 banner advertising impressions.  The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1,000.  For example, a $10 CPM equals $0.01 per impression.

glossary bookI remember this being all the rage when I was in college about 6-7 years ago.  Now a days there aren’t many programs that offer CPM payment terms, but there are some.

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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Sale

Posted on Jun 21, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Sale (CPS):

  • The term for advertising in which the advertiser pays only for those clicks where the user clicks through on the banner or ad and actually purchases a product on the advertiser’s site.

glossary bookThis is the model that most retail businesses use in their affiliate programs.  Traditionally, LinkShare has been the network most associated with having retail offers, but the game is constantly changing.  Many networks have retail offers with CPS models now.

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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Order

Posted on Jun 20, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Order (CPO):

  • The cost metric for each time an order is transacted.

glossary bookThis is what we do at PsPrint. Every time an order is placed, we calculate the commission based off this amount for the affiliate. Many retail programs are similar, putting the onus on the publisher to market the product and assist in making the sale.


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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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