Posts Tagged "Revenue Magazine"

Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Thousand

Posted on Jun 22, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Thousand (CPM):

  • The cost metric for 1,000 banner advertising impressions.  The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1,000.  For example, a $10 CPM equals $0.01 per impression.

glossary bookI remember this being all the rage when I was in college about 6-7 years ago.  Now a days there aren’t many programs that offer CPM payment terms, but there are some.

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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Sale

Posted on Jun 21, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Sale (CPS):

  • The term for advertising in which the advertiser pays only for those clicks where the user clicks through on the banner or ad and actually purchases a product on the advertiser’s site.

glossary bookThis is the model that most retail businesses use in their affiliate programs.  Traditionally, LinkShare has been the network most associated with having retail offers, but the game is constantly changing.  Many networks have retail offers with CPS models now.

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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Order

Posted on Jun 20, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Order (CPO):

  • The cost metric for each time an order is transacted.

glossary bookThis is what we do at PsPrint. Every time an order is placed, we calculate the commission based off this amount for the affiliate. Many retail programs are similar, putting the onus on the publisher to market the product and assist in making the sale.


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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

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Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Lead

Posted on Jun 19, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing | 2 comments

Cost per Lead (CPL):

  • The cost an advertiser pays per qualified leads.

glossary bookThe CPL model is beneficial for merchants with robust inside and outside sales teams that can follow up on the leads collected by their affiliates. The affiliate is only delivering basic information from interested consumers, making it easier for the sales team to close the deal.


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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

Read More

Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Click

Posted on Jun 18, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Click (CPC):

  • The cost metric for each click to an advertising link.

glossary bookI remember this type of advertising was all the rage in the early part of this decade, but has since fallen out of favor since the qualified leads are not as reliable or bountiful.


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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

Read More

Online Marketing Glossary: Cost per Action

Posted on Jun 17, 2008 in Affiliate Marketing |

Cost per Action (CPA):

  • The cost metric for each time a commissionable action takes place.

glossary bookCPA is a blanket term that describes most of the affiliate structure. There are more specific models with their own descriptions that fall under this term.


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Glossary Definition From
ABC’s of Online Marketing by Alexandra Wharton, Issue 22, Revenue Magazine

Read More